Review of Rescue Tape by Petticoat Prepper

by M.D. Creekmore on December 20, 2012 · 17 comments

This is not an entry to a contest; this is just a review to add to the posts so we can all have something new to read.

I’ve read with great interest the items in others GHB, BOB, etc. but no one has talked about a roll of Rescue Tape. I’ve mentioned to MD that I think they’d be a good addition as an advertiser. They have a unique product that I carry in every vehicle, boat, RV and GHB. I’ve used it to fix a leaky radiator hose on DD friend’s car and a broken hose on my sailboat. I even ready an account by a fellow sailor who used it to replace a broken fan belt!

It is self-fusing and creates a permanent seal. It’s both water proof and air tight plus resists up to 500 degrees F (260 degrees C). Its strength is 700 psi and insulates to 8,000 volts. The uses are endless as it resists fuel, oil, acids, solvents, salt water, road salt and UV rays.

It’s easy to use. Just cut a section of tape and stretch it at least twice its length and wrap around item to be repaired, over lapping on itself. If you’re working on a high pressure repair stretch tape as far as you can. The tighter you can wrap it the faster and stronger it will bond to itself.

When wrapping you want to cover about half of the last wrap except for the first and last wrap which need to be 100% on top of itself. You’ll want to be 2-3 inches past the section needing to be repaired and you’ll need 3-5 layers of tape. You can pull up the tape and re-do the wrap but you have to be fast as it sets quickly. I’m generally not fast enough and I find that to be a bit frustrating. Either side of the tape works so you don’t have to worry about not having the ‘sticky’ side.

It’s a bit expensive currently $25 for two smallish rolls but in a SHTF could be the difference between reaching your BOL or not. You can order on-line (MD take out if you don’t want link in there.) www.rescuetape.com We’ve had this product for many years now and used it as the occasion arose. It’s been a good addition to our emergency repair items and we always keep a supply on hand.

17 comments

tommy2rs December 20, 2012 at 11:40 am

Amazon has Rescue Tape in three different colors for about 9-10 bucks a roll. The black is linked below but the red and white are linked to on that page.

http://www.amazon.com/RESCUE-Self-Fusing-Silicone-Tape-BLACK/dp/B000ZTK6CI

EthanP December 20, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Just checked Amazon. Black is currently $3.97@

Texanadian December 20, 2012 at 11:40 am

I had never heard of this tape and plan on getting some.

Thanks

Anne Ollamha December 20, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Rescue Tape is self-adhesive silicon tape. Rescue Tape doesn’t ship to Canada, but we can get Fushion Pro Self-fusing Silicon Tape (in black or white) at Canadian Tire for $5.99CDN for a small roll.

JP in MT December 20, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Thanks for the review. I think I can find a place for a roll or two.

Tactical G-Ma December 20, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Certainly should fit right beside my 30 rolls of duct tape and 60 tubes of super glue.

Petticoat Prepper December 20, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Tommy2rs,

Thanks for the amazon link. I’d never thought of checking there for it. Much better price even with the shipping at least today. The pack from Rescue Tape dot com is a two roll pack but today amazon has single roll just under $4 and with $4 for shipping it’s a better buy there! Awesome find.

MountainSurvivor December 20, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Petticoat Prepper,
Thank you! I use miles of tape each year, duct, packaging, electrical, etc. and, from all you have described, my tool box needs some of that!!

LyndaKay December 20, 2012 at 3:59 pm

Thanks for the review and the link.

k.fields December 20, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Petticoat Prepper -
Thanks for the article, and I agree fully with your recommendation of this product. I’ve used it a lot over the years repairing just about everything.
One other complementary product I would recommend is Pow-R Wrap pipe repair tape. It is a water activated fiberglass product that seals and holds extremely well. Between the two, you can make an emergency fix on most anything.
Like Rescue Tape, Pow-R Wrap can be found in many hardware stores or on Amazon.

waterboy December 20, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Great post.

loco December 20, 2012 at 10:15 pm

great post, definetly going to get me some

Uncle Charlie December 21, 2012 at 3:33 am

I actually have some that I purchased from Sportsman’s Guide. Now if I can only remember where I put it.

TX_Prepper December 21, 2012 at 9:36 am

This stuff is awesome. Don’t leave home without it.

Petticoat Prepper December 22, 2012 at 12:48 am

PS…you can also pick up for just a few bucks each roll at the local boat shows. Just sayin’….

Papabear December 24, 2012 at 8:20 pm

PP, also at local RV shows

paul vetrone December 29, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Also available on Ebay for $4 a roll plus $3 more or less shipping, the more you buy on some auctions the cheaper it gets with extra rolls shipping for 65 cents or so (NOT FOR SALE by ME) plus you get buyer protection

Another optiom FYI

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post:

Home | Contact | Advertise | Disclaimer | Site Map


© (Copyright) M.D. Creekmore and TheSurvivalistBlog.net, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to M.D. Creekmore and TheSurvivalistBlog.net with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Dedicated IP Address: 173.201.144.10 e5013230